About CCPS

The Central California Psychiatric Society is one of five district branches within California. It encompasses the Central Valley, Sacramento Valley, the Sierras, the North Coast, and California's eastern deserts. It is composed of the counties of Alpine, Amador, Butte, Calaveras, Colusa, El Dorado, Fresno, Glenn, Inyo, Kern, Kings, Lassen, Madera, Mariposa, Merced, Modoc, Mono, Nevada, Placer, Plumas, Sacramento, San Joaquin, Shasta, Sierra, Siskiyou, Solano, Stanislaus, Sutter, Tehama, Tulare, Tuolumne, Yolo, and Yuba. It is geographically the largest and most diverse district branch.


The Mission of the Central California Psychiatric Society is to meet the professional needs of its members and to promote the quality treatment and prevention of mental illness in Central California by:

  • Identifying and serving the professional needs of the membership;
  • Representing those needs to the the American Psychiatric Association and supporting there activities;
  • Provide and publicizing continuing medical education courses;
  • Educating people with mental illness, their caregivers and providers, and the general population about mental health and mental illness; and
  • Promoting access to quality psychiatric care.

In performing these functions, members of the Central California Psychiatric Society are mindful of the special features of our region, including its cultural diversity, largely rural character, and the presence of the state capital.