The Central California Psychiatric Society is one of five district branches of the California Psychiatric Association. It encompasses the Central Valley, Sacramento Valley, the Sierras, the North Coast, and California's eastern deserts. It is composed of the counties of Alpine, Amador, Butte, Calaveras, Colusa, El Dorado, Fresno, Glenn, Inyo, Kern, Kings, Lassen, Madera, Mariposa, Merced, Modoc, Mono, Nevada, Placer, Plumas, Sacramento, San Joaquin, Shasta, Sierra, Siskiyou, Stanislaus, Sutter, Tehama, Tulare, Tuolumne, Yolo, and Yuba. It is geographically the largest and most diverse district branch.

Central California Psychiatric Society was incorporated as a District Branch of the American Psychiatric Association in July of 1954. As membership grew over time the council formed 6 regional chapters to represent the large geographical area that the Society covers within California. The chapters that were formed consist of the Shasta Chapter, Sacramento Chapter, Yosemite Chapter, San Joaquin Chapter, Sierra Chapter, Kern Chapter. This allowed the Society to have local chapter meetings to keep APA members updated on current training as well as updates on new national and state legislation.